The University of Oklahoma student team won the 2007 PetroBowl Championship at the International Society of Petroleum Engineers Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition this week, held in Anaheim CA. Beating the University of Texas in the final round during the sixth annual competition, Sooners, Bryce Ballard, Johnathan Gilbert, Daniel Tobin, Johnathan Ashcraft, and Chineye Excel Ogugbue were awarded the silver trophy and a $500 scholarship each from EnCana. The PetroBowl was sponsored by the SPE Gulf coast Section Young Professionals Program and PetroSkills. The PetroBowl consisted of 16 student SPE chapter teams from all over the world. Dr. Carl Sondergeld is the faculty sponsor and ‘coach’ for the Mewbourne School of Petroleum Engineering SPE student team.

OU Student Places Third in International Paper Competition
University of Oklahoma Petroleum Engineering Senior, Bryce Ballard competed with undergraduates from around the world in the International Student Paper Contest Sunday in Anaheim at the Society of Petroleum Engineers Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition. He won third place in the competition. His paper is
titled "Quantitative Mineralogy of Reservoir Rocks Using Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy".

MPGE Students
Our students are leaders all over the University of Oklahoma campus including:

12 National Merit Scholars
UOSA President
Pride of Oklahoma Members
OU Athletes in Baseball, Football, Soccer, Gymnastics, and Lacrosse
OU International Advisory Committee Vice President
American Indian Science and Engineering Society Vice President
OU Academic Misconduct Board Members
Alpha Lamda Delta Honor Society
College of Engineering E-Club Officere
Ebony Homecoming King
Black Student Association Officer
Dean’s Leadership Council Members
Society of Women in Engineering Officer
OU Campus Activities Council
Ruf Nek Members, Including the Sooner Schooner Driver
Numerous Greek Members and Officers
E-1 Vice President